ARPA Committee Meeting Town of St Johnsbury August 3, 2022

Committee members in attendance: Chad Whitehead, Frank Empsall, Gillian Sewake, Ken Hammer, Scott Beck, Patrick Shattuck, Joe Kasprzak, Jenna O'Farrell, Jody Fried,

Members of the public: Bob Joly, Mary Berlejung, Representatives from HCH Enterprises

Meeting Minutes (DRAFT)

- Open Meeting/Agenda Amendments: Meeting opened 11:03am. No agenda amendments.
- Public Comment: None.
- HCH Enterprises Workbook Review with HCH

HCH reviewed the workbook and priority scoring, which they developed using the rubric results provided by the committee members. There was discussion of areas that are missing, and what needs to be done to tweak the workbook.

Chad will send the workbook to the committee for closer review and discussion at a future meeting.

• Focus Group and Public Input Strategy

Booth at the next Final Friday event, on August 26, including interview-style engagement.

Focus groups, possibly the week of September 12. HCH will reach out to folks in each sector, to help develop invite lists, dates, locations, etc. for roughly five events, and possibly an open-ended, town hall-style meeting as well:

- Businesses/creative economy (Jody/Gillian)
- Housing (Patrick)
- Outdoor recreation (Rich Alercio)
- Mental health/social services (Jenna/Juliet)
- Infrastructure: broadband/wastewater/sidewalks (Chad)
- Youth (Schools they are already working on their own engagement strategy)

HCH will also develop a questionnaire/survey for distribution at Welcome Center/online/etc

Deliverables for HCH: interview script for Final Fridays; press release to announce the project; engagement on focus groups; questionnaire draft.

LVRT Riverfront Trail Extension

Chad had sent the proposal ahead for a \$236,000 of ARPA funds to serve as local match for the LVRT extension project. This will be on the agenda at the next meeting, with request for action.

- Other Business: Next meeting is set for Monday, August 15 at noon.
- Adjourned: 12:05pm

Respectfully submitted, Gillian Sewake, Committee Member